Windows disconnect drive mapping
This article provides a solution to an issue where mapped network drive is disconnected after you install or upgrade to Symantec AntiVirus After you install or upgrade to Symantec AntiVirus However, you can still access the contents of the mapped drive.
Additionally, when you try to remove the mapped drive in Windows Explorer, you receive the following error message:. This problem occurs because of an issue in Symantec AntiVirus This section, method, or task contains steps that tell you how to modify the registry.
However, serious problems might occur if you modify the registry incorrectly. Therefore, make sure that you follow these steps carefully. For added protection, back up the registry before you modify it. Click on the drive that you want to disconnect. Click OK. It's at the bottom of the window.
This will disconnect the drive. Method 2. Open Finder. Click the blue, face-like app icon in your Mac's Dock. Locate your mapped drive. On the left side of the Finder window, look for the name of the network drive that you want to disconnect.
You'll usually find this below a "Shared" heading. Select the drive. Click the mapped network drive that you want to disconnect. Click Disconnect. It's in the main Finder window. Doing so will disconnect your drive from the computer network. If you don't see Disconnect , you can also click the "Eject" button to the right of the network drive.
Include your email address to get a message when this question is answered. You can reconnect the drive at any time as long as the path to the drive folder remains the same. Helpful 0 Not Helpful 0. You Might Also Like How to. How to. About This Article. Written by:. Co-authors: Then, press Enter. An important fact to consider is that this only works for drive mappings which have a letter assigned. For network location mappings such as FTP servers or web servers, this command does not work.
A network location mapping is actually a shortcut stored as a file on your Windows PC. If you can't delete it using the first method we've shown, you can try others.
In the Network Shortcuts folder, you will find all network location mappings. Select the ones you no longer want to use and delete them by using the right-click menu and selecting Delete or or by pressing Delete on your keyboard.
If you're using Windows 7, you must also confirm that you want to remove the selected item s. If you're using Windows 10 or 8. You can also use the Command Prompt to browse your PC and remove a network mapping from it by deleting its shortcut.
Start by opening the Command Prompt and use the cd Change Directory command to navigate to the location that we mentioned in the previous section of this article. Then, use the del Delete command to remove the shortcut for the network mapping you no longer want. For instance, if you would like to delete a network mapping named Music, you should run this command: del Music. You are asked to confirm the deletion. Answer yes by typing the letter y.
Once you do that, the network mapping disappears immediately from your Windows computer or device. Learn Windows General Windows.